Department header
Bewildering Stories

Naoko Awa


Bewildering Stories biography

Naoko Awa was born in Tokyo and, while growing up, lived in different parts of Japan. As a child, she read fairy tales by the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen, and Wilhelm Hauff, as well as The Arabian Nights.

In 1962, while still in college, she made her literary debut in the magazine Mejiro jido bungaku. In 1965, she earned a bachelor's degree in Japanese literature from Japan Women's University.

During a literary career that spanned three decades, she published numerous books, including Mahō kakerareta shita (1971), Kaze to ki no uta (1972), Tōi nobara no mura (1981), Kaze no rōrā sukēto (1984), and Hanamame no nieru made (1993).

Copyright © 2019 by Toshiya Kamei

Bewildering Stories bibliography

Prose Fiction
The Sky-Colored Rocking Chair

Home Page