Department header
Bewildering Stories

Danielle L. Parker

Bewildering Stories biography

to Bewildering Stories bibliography

Danielle Parker
Ms. Parker has been a fan of the speculative fiction and mystery genres since she was a teenager reading illicit Andre Norton, A. E. van Vogt, and C. L. Moore paperbacks by flashlight on do-your-homework school nights. College, with a dual major in computer science and accounting and a so-far-inexplicable minor in German, followed. A subsequent career in information technology and telecommunications, where she worked on everything from submarines to police systems to giant call center implementations, didn’t stop her enjoyment of the worlds of sci-fi, fantasy, mystery, and classic horror.

So, after a vicious kick in the teeth and penniless kiss-off by a certain imploding telecommunications giant once proudly known as Lucent Technologies, she decided she ought to have more fun than carrying a company laptop and wearing a stodgy suit and pinching shoes had provided so far and started writing.

Her first novel, The Infinite Instant, came out in September 2008 and won the 2009 EPPIE award for Best Science Fiction. She has finished its sequel, The Nihilistic Mirror. She is at work on the third Minuet James novel, Knight of Faith, while she looks for a publisher/agent for the series.

Bewildering Press has published the collected Captain Blunt stories, first read here in Bewildering Stories, in the anthology In a Pig's Eye. The work is available from Bewildering Press and in Amazon's Kindle store. Check out Jerry Wright's cover art for the anthology. Fans of the golden age of pulp science fiction and classic horror should love the collection.

She has also just completed her second novel, a dark science fiction titled Artorius Ascendant, and is now in the painful, frustrating process of finding a publisher for the book. Artorius Ascendant is a novel-length expansion of a short story that first appeared in Bewildering Stories. She is also at work on a sequel.

In addition, her “Bats of Elvidner” story, first published in Bewildering Stories, will be republished in a print anthology by Pulp Empire. Ms. Parker plans more Elvidner stories for both Pulp Empire and Bewildering Stories.

Her reviews may be read regularly here at BwS. In spite of all that writing and a serious near-sighted problem, she still manages to read, read, read!

Copyright © 2005-2014 by Danielle L. Parker

Bewildering Stories bibliography

Prose Fiction
The Curse of the Dog-Faced Mummy
Galen the Deathless
Rock Bottom and Up
The Thief of Joy and Light, part 1;
parts 2, 3, 4, 5
Lucretia’s New Mattress
The Homecoming
Beautiful Poppies
The Bats of Elvidner
The Dream Miners
The Embrace of the Four-Armed Houri
Beloved Ghosts
Death King
Tower of Sighs

Mad World Band chapters 1-4; 5-7; 8-9; 10
Non-fiction   The Value of Bewildering Stories

Book Reviews

Issue   Author   Title

173 Anne Bishop, The Invisible Ring
133 Lois McMaster Bujold, A Civil Campaign
172 Lois McMaster Bujold, The Hallowed Hunt
132 Gardner Dozois, Year's Best Science Fiction, 2003
164 Gardner Dozois, Year's Best Science Fiction, 2005
144 Loren Estleman, Sherlock Holmes vs. Dracula
136 William Gibson, All Tomorrow's Parties
139 Lauren K. Hamilton, Cerulean Sins
Matt Hughes, Black Brillion
171 Martin Kaye, Masterpieces of Terror and the Supernatural
131 Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory, The Outstretched Shadow
145 Stephen Marlowe, The Lighthouse at the End of the World
175 L. E. Modesitt, Jr., Alector's Choice
155 L. E. Modesitt, Jr., Legacies
181 Paul J. Nahin, Time Travel
156 Terry Pratchett, Going Postal
138 Robert M. Price, The Necronomicon, Cthulhu Cycle Book 12
165 Rudy Rucker, Frek and the Elixer
135 Charles Stross, The Family Trade
182 Charles Stross, The Hidden Family
153 Fred Saberhagen, Rogue Berserker
160 Sherri S. Tepper, The Fresco
146 Herbert Thomas, The Superlative Man
154 Lynn Truss, Eats, Shoots and Leaves
180 Harry Turtledove, The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century
157 Tim Waggoner, Necropolis
134 Gene Wolfe, The Wizard Knight
149 John C. Wright, The Golden Age
169 John C. Wright, The Last Guardian of Everness
148 Philip Wylie, The Gladiator

Return to top

Return to the Biographies index

Home Page